A quick trip to the City

clarenabby_sm

The plan was to take my daughter and her friend into New York City to spend the day. We were doing pretty well in the morning right up until the time when we got into the car and started driving  to pick up Clare’s friend and head to the train station. That’s when the red warning light came on and my car complained that my front passenger side tire was going flat. I had a moment where I thought I could just ignore it (just like Penny does with her check engine light) but my better judgement said to turn around. It was a good thing we did because the danged thing went flat as a pancake right after we pulled in the driveway. Lucky for me, I have a hubby who loves me and was willing to take care of it while I grabbed the other car and we headed back on our way. It wasn’t meant to be a quick trip — we were hoping for a long leisurely day. However,  it seems my daughter’s friend had homework she neglected to turn in. Fairly important homework that meant the difference between passing and failing a class or two. At least that’s what I gleaned from the frantic texts from her parents I got while sitting on the train. Also, from the rather loud conversation she was having with them when they finally reached her on the phone. Turns out that even with the shortened day, we had just enough time.

friezebw_sm

It was a beautiful gift of a day. The weather was warm even though the sky was overcast. It was a relief to have a day to enjoy after the miserable winter we endured. The girls didn’t have much on their list of things to do. Their number one item was a trip to the Nintendo Store near Rockefeller Center, a trip I have made more times than I would like to admit and wasn’t looking forward to at all.  The lovely thing about going with 2 teen girls was I didn’t have to go in with them. I dropped them off at the entrance to the store and wandered off on my own to Anthropologie to do a little uninterrupted browsing.

Was it that I lost track of time or did they not stay at the Ninetendo Store for as long as I had expected? Before I knew it, they were texting and asking me where I was so they could get on with their day.

scarf_sm

The next item on their agenda was a trip to the MoMA. Clare and I hadn’t been there in a long time. There really wasn’t anything I was anxious to see but I thought we’d catch up anyway. I have to say, I was underwhelmed. That said, I didn’t venture up to the main exhibit, Gaugain Metamorpheses. It just didn’t call to me. I saw the Photography exhibit and was not impressed. I wandered through the Member’s Preview area and couldn’t find anything that resonated there either. I think the place I liked the best was one of the smallest exhibits: A Collection of Ideas. Here’s the description from the MoMA website: “The galleries feature clusters of acquisitions that tackle, for instance, the relationship between design and violence; new expressions of organic design in response to environmental and societal disruptions; and the increasing importance of interaction design, as seen in 8 video games new to the collection.” The first image on this post of the two girls, is from that exhibit.

chair_small

I love the MoMA and I love looking at Art, even if I don’t like the Art. I’ll still go back for more. After the museum we did the obligatory visit to the Design Store and then made our way back to Grand Central Station to catch an early train home.

sweets_sm

As we walked down Madison Ave, we came across a store selling Japanese Sweets. Everything was so beautiful, I couldn’t resist a minute or two spent browsing and taking a few pictures. In case you are ever in the area it’s here: Minamoto Kitchoan

teafortwo_sm

By then, my miserable knee was acting up and it was all I could do to keep walking to Grand Central and get on the train to come home. Despite the less than stellar start to the day, we all had a lovely time. I am thinking that I may not need to be such a tag along after this and that is kind of a scary thought. My kids are pretty much old enough to get around the city on their own. OY.

bicycles_sm

I saved this picture to post last, not because I have much to say about it but because it was my favorite picture of the day. I hope you like it, too!

~ by photobella on 15 April, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
