photo of the day (new york city edition)

The kids and I took a late train into Manhattan just for kicks and to not let our MoMa membership go to waste. I’m usually the one who rushes to make an early train so we can spend the better part of the day in the city but this time I figured we’d go in late and stay late so there wasn’t any rush. It seemed like a lot of other people had the very same idea. The train from Westport was so crowded that I thought we might have to stand all the way in to Grand Central but luckily a few seats opened up and we got to sit and enjoy the ride.

My son Nick had planned to spend the weekend in the city with his best friend but due to his teenage brain and it’s lack of ability to think clearly and make good choices, he stayed up until 2 AM when he was asked to be in bed by midnight. As a consequence, his weekend plans were off. I know you are going to think I am a horrible mother – and the husband may not be too happy about this either – but Nick’s friend lives just a few blocks away from the MoMA and technically, I wasn’t breaking any rules because he wasn’t getting to stay for the weekend. Clare and I walked him over to his friend’s apartment for the day and then headed to the museum on our own. Are you groaning yet? Or would you have done the same? Just wondering.

See the guy in this shot who looks like Nanook of the North all wrapped up in his scarf?  Well, he must have flown in from Florida because while it was a bit chilly, it wasn’t all that cold.

After a quick snack at Le Pain Quotidien, Clare and I made it to the museum. As always, there was a long line of people waiting to get in that we passed happily by with our membership cards in hand.

First on my list was the Picasso Guitars. Interesting but a bit underwhelming. A few pieces would have been enough but the exhibition goes on and on. Head of Man. Head of Man with Hat. Another Head of Man with Hat. Some interesting textures and collage work. Eh. But then again, Picasso was never that high on my list.

After wandering through an interesting exhibit of architectural model, we found an exhibit called Standard Deviations: Types and Families in Contemporary Design. This was a treasure trove of interesting things and was by far my favorite of the day.

I thought these Munnies were very clever.

I had been wanting to see Counter Space: Design and the Modern Kitchen since it opened but this was our first trip to the MoMA since the summer. I loved this small, efficient German kitchen.

Clare and I wandered the Museum until we couldn’t look at another thing and our feet were tired and sore. We made plans to meet up with Nick, Zephyr, another friend and Zephyr’s mom at the Brooklyn Diner to have dinner before we headed back to Connecticut. There was a little time to kill so we spent it oohing and aahing at Lee’s Art Shop which was right near the restaurant. Clare tried to convince me that I needed to buy her a set of Copic markers but the smallest set they had of 14 colors was $77 – a bit too pricey for my tastes. I will admit, they are awesome.

Dinner at the Brooklyn Diner was fun, delicious and expensive. I hadn’t seen Zephyr’s Mom for a long time so we had a lot of catching up to do. I enjoy her company very much so it was hard to break away and head back to Grand Central to make a train back to Westport and then drive home. We made the 9:37 pm train and were home before 11:30 pm. I was pretty tired when I finally got to bed but I’m so glad we went. Tomorrow’s another fun filled day of activities.

~ by photobella on 25 March, 2011.

One Response to “photo of the day (new york city edition)”

  1. Hi, love the project, really cool. I am about 100 days away from finishing, sadly my NYC visit was a long time before it started.

    I say finishing, it gets addictive so I am not actually sure I am stopping!

    Good luck with the rest of it

    Rob
    http://robfranklin83.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
