photo of the day (backyard wildlife)

Just before the husband left for work we looked out the bedroom window to find a trio of does taking refuge at the far end of the backyard. It was raining and they had found shelter under some bushes. We watched them for awhile and I took some pictures until the husband had to leave. I figured that the sound of him going out the back door and towards the car would be enough to send them running but they just swiveled their large ears back and forth, listening but not moving from their spots. Unfortunately, I had to let the dogs out and that was what got them up and moving.

Later in the day, I noticed this young doe on the hill behind the house surrounded by the flock of turkeys that live in the woods. They come through every year, displaying and fighting and wooing and doing what turkeys do in the spring. I was surprised to see the young deer in their midst.

It’s been a hard winter and I’m sure all the animals had a tough time finding food in all the snow. But them coming so close to the house is s sure sign of Spring.

I know it’s not the best idea but I may end up getting some wild life feed to scatter around in the back when I head for the Agway later today. My luck is all I will attract will be possums, raccoons, skunks and coyotes. Maybe it really isn’t the best idea.

~ by photobella on 2 March, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
