photo of the day (groundhog day, covered in ice)

First there was snow. Then sleet. Then freezing rain. A lovely combination that left the driveway covered in an inch or so of ice (at least that’s how much it seemed like to me when it came time to try and get it off.) Despite the miserable weather, the groundhog emerged, I was told, did not see his shadow and predicted an end to all our winter woes and an early spring. Wouldn’t that be nice?

This most recent storm has encased everything in a crystal shell.  I wanted to take some pictures of the prettier side of the icy mess so I thought I’d get up close with my lovely macro lens.

This is the shot that amazed me more than any others I took. Look at the intricate patterns on the icicle. I’m not sure what forces influenced those amazing markings. You should be able to click on the image and see a larger version of it. Does it not look like some sort of ancient carving?

Thankfully, we made it through the storm without losing heat, light or internet. I am looking forward to next couple of days of quiet and relative calm.

~ by photobella on 2 February, 2011.

One Response to “photo of the day (groundhog day, covered in ice)”

  1. Amazing!!!! Water is astonishing. Beautiful photos, Sue ❤ Spring will be here soon enough….
    xo

Leave a Reply

 
