photo of the day (trying to capture fall before it’s over)

It almost got away from me. But with all my comings and goings and trying to make it here and there while staying on time and getting everything done I hadn’t captured a single moment. So when Clare and I decided to take the dog for a walk by the lake, I grabbed my camera knowing that it might be close to my last chance.

We don’t seem to make it to the lake much during the summer season. I used to take the kids all the time when they were younger and going to the lake was a big deal. We would always run into someone we knew and they would take off and swim and play while I watched from the sand and read or worked on a knitting project. These days the lake doesn’t have the same draw. Especially for Nick, who will rarely run into anyone he knows. Taking a kayak out on the pond just doesn’t have the same appeal as it did when he was nine.

I think I’d go much more often if I could take the dog.

We didn’t have much time to linger so we walked once around the pond and then headed up to Great Hollow to pick up Nick from his Wilderness Class. I’m glad I grabbed that brief moment to take a few pictures before the leaves are gone and the trees are bare. Next year I will plan better and make more time for pictures. But I say that every year.

~ by photobella on 29 October, 2010.

One Response to “photo of the day (trying to capture fall before it’s over)”

  1. I love these pics Sue – I already forgot what fall in New England is like. So beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I miss you and wish we could stroll through these incredibly vibrant and colorful forests. Ahhhhhh – thank goodness for your agile hand in photography. Hugs and kisses!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
