photo of the day (back to blogging and the nys sheep and wool festival)

Ok, I admit it. I’ve been baaaaaaaad. Get it? Baaaaaaad. Sorry. I couldn’t help myself. But seriously, I’ve been avoiding my blog and while I’ve still been taking some pictures, I’ve neglected my photography as well. I’m not really sure why. I must have just needed a break. There has been a lot going on around me lately and it’s been hard to focus (pun intended.)

I think it’s time to start posting again because lately I’ve been missing the routine of taking pictures and then writing about them. I didn’t realize how much stability and purpose this blog added to my life until I went several months without it. Then Teri started posting images again on her blog, as i see it, and I thought it might be time for me to start up again, too. Thanks, Teri, for the inspiration!

Like last year, my son was the impetus for me to get off my behind and take a trip North to the NYS Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY. I’d been meaning to go for years and there was always a reason or an obstacle that prevented me from going. Nick’s friend Zephyr and his Mom make the trip every year and the boys decided to take the opportunity to meet up and hang together at the show. Last year Nick and I made the trip alone. This year it turned into a family outing with Dad and Clare joining us for the day.

It was an easy and scenic ride from Connecticut to Rhinebeck. The fall colors were brilliant and the air was crisp and chilly enough to have to bundle up a bit. We made good time and got to the fairgrounds before the real crush of the crowd. Nick and Dad went off to wait for Zephyr and his Mom to arrive and Clare and I set off on our own.

We wandered around the vendor booths and looked and touched all the yarn goodness.

I knew that Clare would not be able to leave without a souvenir of her day and when we met this interesting and charming fellow, completely handmade and named Horace, both of us recognized that he would be coming home with us. This year I didn’t make the mistake of waiting until I had wandered through so many booths and aisles that I couldn’t see straight or remember where I had been the minute before to make a purchase. We walked once around the building before returning to the spot where Horace lived and bought him before we went on to other things.

There was so much to see and do (and eat!) that I wished I had more stamina and that my feet weren’t getting quite so tired and sore. Clare and I stopped for lunch and while I was willing to wait on line for the infamous chicken pot pies, Clare requested lamb and barley soup (delicious) and some lamb raviolis (incredibly yummy.) We topped that off with some hot apple crisp ala mode. Heaven.

After lunch, we caught up with the husband, listened to great bluegrass music and then watched some amazing, gravity defying dogs catching frisbees and playing flyball. Seriously, those dogs were so fast and even when I had my camera on autofocus and the shutter speed way up high, I couldn’t catch a decent image of one of them flying past.

We walked until we couldn’t walk any more and were satisfied that we had seen all there was to be seen at least once (even though I didn’t manage to catch any of the sheep dog trials) and then we gathered up the troops and headed home. Clare is already talking about what we’ll do at the fair next year. I’m already making up my wish list.

~ by photobella on 16 October, 2010.

One Response to “photo of the day (back to blogging and the nys sheep and wool festival)”

  1. Yea Sue!!!!! It sounds like your whole family had such a wonderful time at the festival. Wish I could have been there with you. I love the little souvenir you and Clare purchased. He’s so lurvely. Can you believe I am reading your blog??????????!!!!!!! It will help me stay grounded in Florida. Love ya!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
