photo of the day (back at the barn)

After all the humid, hot weather we’ve been having I woke up this morning to a clear, cool, dry and sunshiney day. Glorious. I wanted to work some more on this week’s photo course assignment so I headed over to the barn with a couple of different lenses than the ones I usually grab to shoot with. I was hoping that using different lenses would help me get better results with my depth of field.

I got out into the pasture and for the most part, like yesterday, the horses paid me no mind and grazed without lifting up their heads. Then I noticed Texas heading towards me from across the field.

Ok, here’s the thing about Tex. He was the first horse I ever rode. Riding was an unfulfilled childhood dream of mine. It never occurred to me that I could take lessons as an adult. And yet there I was, leading a horse out of the pasture and getting ready for my first lesson. That’s when he bit me. Dang. That hurt. I had a black and blue bruise on my arm for weeks. Stupid horse.

I had my first lesson and it was as thrilling as I hoped it would be. Afterwards, I took off  Texas’s tack, brushed him out, gave him a treat and he was as good as gold. I rode him for a few more lessons after that before moving on to a different horse. My daughter is riding Texas while I ride Oso, Tex’s best buddy and paddock mate. Texas still tries to intimidate me every now and then but we’ve made our peace. Still, when I saw him walking towards me in the pasture, my first thought was that he was looking for a piece of me.

Lucky for me, he was just looking for a treat.

~ by photobella on 30 June, 2010.

One Response to “photo of the day (back at the barn)”

  1. Nice shot. Great story!

Leave a Reply

 
