photo of the day (nyc here we come)

Out of curiosity and mostly because I could, I signed Nick and I up to go to the NAPP (National Association of Photoshop Professionals) seminar on the new version of Photoshop, CS5. Hey, it was free. And they were giving away cool prizes like full versions of CS5 which normally comes with a very dear price tag. So after my yoga class at Great Hollow, I grabbed up Nick and we hopped on the train from Westport into the city.

We arrived at Grand Central and took the subway across town and over to 34th street. We were early and thought we might find something to do before heading over to the Hammerstein Ballroom, but on the off chance that there was a line already forming, I thought we’d head over and scope things out first. I’m glad we did because as I suspected, there was, indeed, a line. We got on it and waited.

There wasn’t a lot of time to take pictures but I’m happy with the few images I did manage to shoot.

Back to the reason we were in the city in the first place: Photoshop CS5. First of all let me say, Scott Kelby, if you are out there and reading this: you need a new AV company. I’ll email you about this but if you were using our company, ZKI Communications, your mikes would have worked and your video, too. ‘Nuff said. Secondly, RC, you are a great presenter. Maybe that’s why I gravitate towards your tutorials on Kelby Online Training. And thirdly, and most importantly, CS5 rocks! There are some very cool features (content aware fill!) and I want a copy for myself. Now, just to figure out how to get one. Adobe, you need to recognize homeschoolers in your educational discounts. And you need to give better discounts to high school students. Remember, you are creating your customer base at a young age. Get them hooked and keep them happy.

I learned some pretty cool stuff at the seminar (and hopefully, Nick did, too.) We didn’t win any of the fabulous prizes, but oh well. It was after 8 pm when we finally emerged from the ballroom. Nick and I were starving. I never did make it over to the B&H table with the candy and pretzels! We hopped in a cab and made our way to Les Halles for some dinner. Nick and Zki had been there before and reported that the mussels were amazing so that’s what we had. They were right. The mussels were divine. As was the mousse au chocolat and the creme brulee we had for dessert.

We walked from the restaurant to the station with just about enough time to catch the next to the last train back home. I hoped that if I walked fast enough I could walk off a bit of the creme brulee. I remembered how much I love those warm summer nights in the city. I’d move back in a minute (if I could afford it) but for the now, a short trip in on the train will have to suffice.

~ by photobella on 25 June, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
