photo of the day (it’s been a long time but i’m heading to the barn)

I don’t know how it happened but it’s been about 3 weeks since I’ve been at the barn to ride. Three weeks. How the heck did that happen? Really, I know how it happened. Between the weather and the holidays, three weeks just flew by. With each week, it was a little easier not to go. I mean, after all this time, do I even remember how to ride? What if I’ve forgotten everything and have to start all over again?

Lucky for me, I didn’t forget. Ok, so I had to take a few minutes to remember just how to tack Oso up but even still, I (and I hate to say this out loud and jinx myself, but here goes) had a great lesson. Even the weather gods cooperated. It was almost mild and comfortable and I had to peel off a layer in the middle cause I was getting pretty warm. Oso was very well behaved. Adriane said she didn’t think he really remembered who I was. Not so strange considering that horses aren’t known for their stellar memories. No problem there. At least he wasn’t a pill. We worked on getting some flexion and I was getting a pretty good trot. Yes, I’m still just trotting. But that’s ok with me. After all, I never would have imagined I’d be riding at all at my age. So baby steps until I get them all right works just fine.

I was jazzed for the rest of the day. And I can’t wait until my next lesson which is a whole, entire week away. And that’s way too long.

~ by photobella on 7 January, 2010.

One Response to “photo of the day (it’s been a long time but i’m heading to the barn)”

  1. It’s like riding a bike, you never forget:)

Leave a Reply

 
