photo of the day (a fall fair)

I promised Clare that we would visit her old school so she could see her friends and I figured that their annual fall fair would be as good a time as any. She was much more eager to go than I was (the door closed for me as soon as we decided we weren’t sending her back) and a promise is a promise so the two of us headed over as soon as the fair opened. We were greeted by many of the parents and teachers with much warmth but I have to say I was surprised at the cool reception Clare was getting from her former classmates. One girl even ignored her completely when she went over to say hi. Really. Looked right through her as if she wasn’t there. I saw Clare’s face and how disappointed and sad she was and I tried to make light of it for her sake but inside, I was seething. I think at that moment, Clare understood that there was no turning back. Her school had been an important part of her life for a very long time, but now it was time to move on.

So we did. We walked around and looked at all the crafts and activities while Clare spent most of her tickets on treats and the Pocket Man. We spent some time chatting with Kristen, from New Pond Farm and helping to take care of our old friend, Bert the turtle, who was there visiting from the farm. Most of the girls we met who were friendly to Clare were not from her class or had left the school as we had.

We had lunch and chatted with Nick’s old teacher and listened to some fine bluegrass. Then Clare ran into her friend Paige, who is now going to a local public school. Clare and Paige have been keeping in touch by email and they were both very happy to see each other. I had been ready to leave about the same time we arrived but once Clare hooked up with Paige, they were off and running. I was pleased to see her happy again and so I figured we were there for the long haul.As the girls ran off, I wandered around and did a little shopping until they were ready to leave and have a brief playdate at our house.

I know not everyone believes that everything happens for a reason but even if you don’t, there’s a lesson in almost everything that does happen. I think that Clare’s lesson was that moving on is ok. Things change and that’s ok, too. Even though it made her sad to be so poorly treated by those she considered her friends, it was good for her to see that she isn’t missing out on anything by not being there. Now, she has new friends and new opportunities to meet people and form new relationships. Now she can close that door for herself and move ahead.

~ by photobella on 21 November, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
