photo of the day (i’m knitting again!)

DSC_8019

I am knitting again. I thought I would take the time to mention it. It may not be such a big deal for you, but it is for me. There was a time when I wouldn’t go out of the house without a knitting project tucked into a bag in case I had a few minutes to spare with nothing else to do but knit. I made weekly trips to several local yarn stores and all the shopkeepers knew me by name. I always had more than one project going at once (how boring is it to only be working on one thing at a time?) I spent the time I wasn’t knitting, surfing the net, reading up on my knitting forums, and checking out the new patterns on knitty.com. Then I started blogging.

When I started my 365 Project almost 2 years ago, I was committed to photographing and posting at least one new picture every day for a year. Taking pictures, editing them and writing about them started to get in the way of my knitting. My needles started to gather dust and my yarn stash was getting lonely. My closet was littered with UFOs (unfinished objects.)  I hadn’t started anything new, perused a knitting magazine or even realized that I hadn’t been getting any emails alerting me to the new edition of knitty in more than a year. Things were looking bad.

Funny, because after not having knit in more than a year (gasp!)  I finally made it to the NYS Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY. At the festival, I  allowed myself to become giddy with the smell of yarn and the feel of knitting needles in my hands. I wandered through aisle after aisle of yarn, needles, roving, sweaters, hats, and all other manner of knitting accoutréments. After the initial moments of hyperventilation had passed, I purchased a few skeins of sock yarn in the hopes of getting my knitting mojo back and maybe — just maybe — picking up my needles again and knitting something from start to finish. It had been so long!

When I got home, I headed for my closet, organized my yarn stash, ripped out the few forlorn UFOs, went through my needle sets and started perusing books and magazines for patterns. Ah, the rush of starting out fresh!

This week, I  finished a lovely cowl made of a hand dyed silk wool blend I had gotten at the CT Sheep and Wool Festival way back when and started on a pair of 2-at-a-time, toe-up socks for Clare with some of the newly purchased sock yarn. I’m going to have to rip out a few rows (no biggie) because I was a little to quick to begin work on the heel but despite that minor set-back, things are going swimmingly. I am already planning for what I will cast on next. This is a good sign that things are going well.

~ by photobella on 3 November, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
