photo of the day (bethel halloween treat street)

DSC_7846

Ok, I’m coming clean about this one and you’ll have to take it or leave it. It is what it is and I make no apologies about it. You are warned and I hope you are ready to hear this because it isn’t pretty. The thing is, as holiday time approaches, I turn into a Grinchy Grouchy Scrooge. While everyone else is getting all warm and fuzzy and carving pumpkins and getting their costumes ready for Halloween, I am just getting grouchier and grouchier by the moment. Thanksgiving right around the corner and then Christmas. Ugh. It pretty much goes down hill until New Years. So there you have it. I admit that I have serious holiday issues. But its ok, really. By January 6th (the day after Nick’s birthday) I’ll be ready to put away the Christmas lights and get back to my normal self again.

And so it goes. Despite the fact that I have a long list of other things I could be doing, today was the annual Halloween Treat Street and because I have a gallery right on the main street in town, it was time to smile and give out candy for a couple of hours in the afternoon. So I painted my face and put on a pair of kitty ears and headed for the store.

DSC_7808

The weather was warm and that made it a bit easier for all the little ones to put on their costumes and trick or treat in the rain.

DSC_7861

I wonder whether this kid would get out on good behavior. Does he have to turn over his candy to the warden?

DSC_7804

I saw the Grim Reaper with his dad and a Star Wars Storm Trouper.

DSC_7826

This guy must have come an awfully long way just to get a few pieces of candy.

DSC_7813

Did anyone else notice that Elmo ate that baby?

DSC_7839

Even a grouch like me had to admit that this was a little honey.

DSC_7855

Isn’t this a little stinker?

So maybe I didn’t get to finish doing all the things I wanted to do today. And maybe I had to stand around the store handing out candy to a bunch of snotty-nosed adorable kids trudging up and down the street collecting crap candy. It wasn’t so bad. Really. After all was said and done, it wasn’t bad at all. I even had a little fun. And maybe there’s hope for the holidays to come.

~ by photobella on 24 October, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
