photo of the day (ny state sheep and wool festival)

I’ve been wanting to go to the NYS Sheep and Wool Festival for many years now, but somehow something has always comes up that has kept me from attending. Finally, this year, encouraged by the chance for Nick to spend some time with his friend Zephyr and realizing that it’s about darn time, I decided make the trip to Rhinebeck, NY and see what I could see.

DSC_7644

With Clare happily at a friend’s house for a sleepover, Nick and I woke up Saturday morning and hit the road. We got to the fairgrounds later than I had hoped but still early enough to have most of the day ahead of us. I had been to one other sheep and wool festival (you can read about it here) so I kind of knew what to expect. Yarn, sheep, border collies, food, and lots of knitters. What I wasn’t prepared for was the size of this fair compared to the one I had been to in Connecticut. The fair in Rhinebeck was huge and jammed packed with things to see, do and buy and there were lots and lots and lots of people. Bus tours full of them. I had no idea that people came by the busload to go to the sheep and wool fair, but believe me, they do.

Nick and I walked around until I got him hooked up with Zephyr and the two of them took off to do their own thing which was totally all right by me. Time alone surrounded by lots of yarn and knitting accessories was something I could use, and so I began to wander and look around. I have to say that “overwhelming” doesn’t even come close to describing what I felt in the midst of all that yarn, buttons, roving, needles, spinning accessories and people.

DSC_7633

I have to admit to coming a bit close to hyperventilating at the sight of all the knitting goodness.

DSC_7715

I decided that I would spend my alone time taking pictures instead of buying things. I meandered through the booths and aisles filled with people, occasionally stopping to pick up and fondle a skein of yarn that caught my fancy but I didn’t want to purchase anything before I had fully explored the possibilities. I met someone who was methodically making a list of items and locations so she could go back and make her purchases after she, too, had fully explored the scene, but I decided to wait until next year before I am that organized. For that moment, my focus was on the sights and the sounds and the smells of the fair.

DSC_7668

After exploring booth after booth of the wool part of the event, I went off in search of the sheep.

DSC_7671

There were all sorts of goats, sheep and alpacas, all prettied up for the admiring crowds.

DSC_7693

Isn’t this guy silly? He looks like he’s singing.

DSC_7703

After exploring to my heart’s content, I met up with the boys and Zephyr’s mom and she took me over to see the new travel sized (I had no idea there was such a thing!) spinning wheel she was purchasing and with her encouragement I bought a few skeins of sock yarn in the hopes that I can start knitting again and make someone lucky one a pair of lovely socks for Christmas.

DSC_7711

The day flew by and soon it was time to head for home. I’m so glad I finally made it to this special event. I’m already planning for next year’s trip.

DSC_7713

~ by photobella on 17 October, 2009.

One Response to “photo of the day (ny state sheep and wool festival)”

  1. […] because after not having knit in more than a year (gasp!)  I finally made it to the NYS Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY. At the festival, I  allowed myself to become giddy with the smell of yarn and the feel of knitting […]

Leave a Reply

 
