photo of the day

I had a playdate with my BFF, Stef today and we went with her daughter, Bing and a friend to Sprite Island. Sprite is a tiny island off the Norwalk Coast that houses a small yacht club and Stef and her family are members. I have pictures of it on my blog here and there from this summer and last. It is a beautiful place; a little bit of heaven in Norwalk harbor. It was the right place to be on one of the few really warm days we have had this summer.

Yesterday it was in the 90s, it seems for the first time since a couple of unusually hot days in the spring (we thought we were in for it then and were surprised with the coolest summer on record.) Today, was hot but not as hot as yesterday. But it was hot enough so that sitting on the beach in the sun wasn’t something you could do for very long. There wasn’t much wind and the water was relatively calm so we loaded the girls up in kayaks and headed toward Cockenoe Island to see what we could see.

Just so you know, I didn’t have my waterproof camera case with me, so no pictures of Cockenoe. Sorry. You don’t know how hard it was to be there without one. I won’t even go into why I didn’t have it. Trust me; you don’t want to know. Next time, I’ll be more prepared because the island is unbelievably beautiful.

You can see Cockenoe from Longshore Park and it is about as far as you are allowed to kayak when renting from the sailing school. However, it is about a mile and a half away and I didn’t want to make the trip on my own. From Sprite, the distance is a little closer and I felt much more comfortable heading out there with another person along for the ride.

Even still, it was a long trip. I thought Stef was nuts for insisting we kayak around the long sandbar that juts out from the island instead of landing right there, but once we entered the cove beach on the main part of the island, I knew she was right. The water was warm and there were birds everywhere. The girls went swimming in the cove and we walked along the beach, picking up shells and enjoying the scenery and the peace of the island. We stayed as long as we could but we hadn’t had lunch, the snack bar on Sprite was closed and Stef had to be back to pick up her older daughter from camp. So we reluctantly got back in our kayaks and headed across the water for Sprite.

The way back to Sprite was much easier than our trip out to Cockenoe. We had the wind at our backs and the tide was heading in to shore so before we knew it we were back on the beach, collecting our stuff and heading back to the mainland. Stef and I were pumped and proud of our accomplishment. I’m looking forward to heading back out to Cockenoe and you know that next time, I’ll have my camera with me.

If you are interested in finding out more about Cockenoe, Sprite and the other Norwalk Islands, you can read about them here.

~ by photobella on 11 August, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
