photo of the day

Today was Clare’s first day at camp and when I dropped off Nick for sailing, I found myself with something I haven’t had in a long time: time alone. Don’t get me wrong. I love spending time with my kids. That’s probably the main reason I can handle the thought of homeschooling both of them. I enjoy their company and like being around them. However, everyone needs some time alone every now and then and my alone time has been in short supply.

So when I let Nick out to make a mad dash to class, I parked the car, plugged in my ipod and went for a walk. It was low tide when I walked past Gray’s creek and the egrets were out in full force. When the tide is high, I may see only a few here and there. When the tide is low, they gather in the creek bed to search out tasty tidbits to eat.

I took bunches of pictures of them flying around and chasing each other from place to place. This is one of my favorites, you can see the others on my Flickr gallery.

I walked past the Osprey’s nest and both parents were hanging out in the noonday sun. Here they are watching me as I attempt to get a decent shot from below their nest. I love how their eyes are bigger than their heads and how intensely they watch me as I walk under their nest.

I didn’t get much done today but I didn’t mind. I think the novelty of time alone made it hard to do anything but sit and enjoy the peace and quiet. Tomorrow is another day and maybe I will get more done then.

~ by photobella on 27 July, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
