photo of the day

Clare and I came upon an interesting sight when we arrived at the parking lot at Longshore today. There was a dive team running some kind of training exercise in the channel by the marina. At first I thought there were only two divers in the water but as we watched, I noticed that there were 3 sets of bubbles coming up from the center part of the channel. I wanted to stay and watch until I figured out what was going on, but Clare hadn’t had breakfast and was pretty insistent that we head to Joey’s and get something to eat.

I did manage to get a shot of this diver before we headed off. Can you imagine slugging around under water in all that gear? He looks more like an astronaut in all that equiptment.

We weren’t the only ones interested in the comings and goings of the divers. This cormorant was watching as well and hung around until he must have gotten goosed by one of the divers in the channel. He floated over one of the spots of bubbles and took off like a shot!

Here’s my young blue heron friend, also checking out the action. By the time we were finished with our bagels, the team was gone and the place had gone back to normal.

Clare and I took a walk around the golf course and hung around until it was time to pick up Nick. We had a hair appointment in the afternoon and I had some ideas for pictures but wouldn’t you know it — my camera ran out of batteries and I had left the spare at home. Ah well, there’s always tomorrow.

~ by photobella on 22 July, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
