photo of the day (osprey day)

Today was another perfect summer day and so Clare and I decided to take a walk around Longshore Park. Nick is taking his Safe Boating class this week which starts at 9:30 am so instead of afternoons at the Sound, for this week we are there in the mornings. The day was still a bit on the cool side, at least by the water, so a walk seemed like the perfect idea. Besides, I hadn’t been over to the Osprey platform except to drive by it on our way out of the park or view it from the kayak as we paddled down Gray’s Creek and I wanted to see if I could spot babies in the nest.

Of course, I hadn’t remembered to bring my tele-extender for my lens or my monopod but I have my 18mm to 200mm zoom back from repairs and that has served me well in the past. I don’t get Nat Geo worthy shots by any means, but I do get to see some detail that I can’t see with just my eyes.

I spent quite a few days walking over to the platform last year and checking out the progress in the nest. If you click on my archives from last July and August you will see that I took pictures of the nest until the babies had fledged and flown away. This year, it’s a bit earlier in the season and I haven’t caught a glimpse of them yet. They might not be big enough quite yet for me to see them over all the sticks in the nest. I’ll be bringing my monopod and extender with me one of these days, so check back!

Here’s a link to my Flickr set of Osprey pictures: Ospreys

~ by photobella on 20 July, 2009.

One Response to “photo of the day (osprey day)”

  1. My favorite birds!

Leave a Reply

 
