photo of the day (i have been a very bad blogger)

I have been a very bad blogger. But I have an excuse if you would like to hear it. Well, here it is, just in case you are interested: I’ve been incredibly busy. That’s all. I can blame it on my Paris trip, at least partly. You see, we got home from Paris and despite the jetlag, we all had to jump right back into the swing of things right away. Believe me, that isn’t easy to do. First, you wake up in the middle of the night thinking it should be morning. Then you crash in the middle of the afternoon. It took me at least a week to get back on US time. I don’t know how my hubby and his crew do it — they are always on the road and going from one time zone to another.

Life at home continued to move on, despite the fog in my brain. There was the last day of coop with one last lesson for my photo class to plan for.  Then we had our first annual Great Hollow Homeschool Coop Family Day so we could enjoy each other’s company and show off all we had worked on over the past year.

Clare still had a few more days of school left before her summer started. There were theater class rehearsals,  music lessons, riding lessons to catch up on, church, a graduation to attend and a performance or two.

Posting my Paris pictures and writing about all that we did while we were there  took up a good deal of my computer time. By the time I was finished editing my photos and recording our adventures, I needed a blogging break.

Nick had his last Wilderness Skills class at Great Hollow yesterday and I’m hoping that brings to a close my bad Tuesdays. Lots of bad juju for me on Tuesdays this year. I wouldn’t have expected it to work out that way because two great things happened on Tuesdays. One was that I had most of the day to myself and the second was riding lessons at the end of the day. But Tuesdays never shaped up well and by the time I had collected both kids  and was heading for the barn, I was sputtering and fuming because we were running late yet again. Believe me, starting a riding lesson filled with stress is not the best way to go about it. Some days I’d just grab a brush, take deep breaths and groom until I could see straight again.

I’ve caught you up on almost everything that’s happened around here since I have dropped off of the blogging map. Clare is finished with school and our summer vacation begins.  Hopefully, we’ll get a few moments to relax. There is still stuff going on, just not as much as before. I’m hoping to take our down time and catch up a bit. There’s laundry to be done and the house looks as if a tornado struck. When you are on the go as much as we have been, there is not much time or energy for being tidy.

My garden has been sorely neglected and looks like a jungle. Weeds are everywhere and growing faster than I can keep up with them. I have three empty (well, empty except for the weeds) beds in my vegetable garden that need planting and attention.

I did manage to clean out my pond and get it ready for the frogs. They looked pretty happy to be back home and out of their winter digs in the playroom. Then one morning as I was sitting on the couch having my coffee and surfing the net, a small hawklike bird landed on the pond, grabbed a froggie snack and flew away. There was only a brief moment to watch in amazement and try and catch a picture. But my zoom lens is being held hostage at Nikon for repairs and all I had was a 55 mm lens so I didn’t get to snap a picture of any consequence before he was gone. Now. as far as I can tell, there are only two froggies left. I’m hoping that the others hopped away and weren’t bird food like their friend.

That’s all for now. Hopefully, I can get back to a regular blogging schedule!

~ by photobella on 10 June, 2009.

One Response to “photo of the day (i have been a very bad blogger)”

  1. Glad to hear things are settling down for you. 🙂 Also, I adore the macro of the pencil shavings.

Leave a Reply

 
