photo of the day (gff fix-a-test)

Today was the Fix-a-Test clinic at Gray Friesian Farm. Nick had his Coming of Age group at church this morning so I didn’t make it until later in the afternoon. I had hoped that Clare would come with me and watch the riders before she had her vaulting class but it was cold and damp and dreary out and I couldn’t convince her to come, even for vaulting.

A Fix-a-Test is a Dressage test. The rider is judged and scored on the first ride. The judge then works with the rider for up to 15 minutes on ways to improve her score. Afterwards, the rider gets to ride the test again and is re-scored. It was amazing to watch the whole process. Getting to hear the judge’s corrections and suggestions for each rider was just what I needed. Watching the improvement and the look on each of the rider’s faces as they applied what they learned to the second ride was wonderful.

The only downside to the day was that it was unbelievably windy, chilly and damp. I wasn’t dressed for the weather at all. I guess I just can’t fathom that it could be so downright cold in the middle of May. But today it felt more like the end of March or April. By the time I got home, the tips of my fingers were numb.

The riders who rode the test today have all been riding much longer than I have. But watching them made me want to take part in a clinic like that as soon as I am up for it. Maybe next year?

~ by photobella on 17 May, 2009.

2 Responses to “photo of the day (gff fix-a-test)”

  1. You for sure could do it next year. What a great riding goal.

  2. Many of them haven’t been riding for that much longer. Do the intro test at the end of the summer!

Leave a Reply

 
