photo of the day (rachel’s first communion)

My cousin’s daughter Rachel had her first Communion on Saturday and Clare and I were able to drive down and join everyone for the celebration. We are a family of many religions, from Jews to Catholics to Unitarians and all of us gathered together for Rachel’s big day.

Rachel is my Mom’s sister’s granddaughter. This is my mom (in peach) and my aunt. They have been close as long as I have been alive. These days they live about 3 miles from each other.

This was definitely a party with the kids in mind. All the entertainment was handled expertly by “Rockin’ Roxanne” who not only provided DJs but did airbrushed tats for anyone who wanted one. Not too many of the other parents took advantage of this opportunity but Clare and I got in line together with another mom and her daughter. They got matching butterflies. Clare got an awesome dragon and I got a heart with wings on my ankle (sorry, no pics!)

Some of the older folks looked on and complained that the music was too loud but the kids were having themselves a time! There were hula hoops . . .

. . . and even a little limbo action.

After a few dances around the parachute, it was time to go home. It was great to see everyone and get to share in Rachel’s special day.

~ by photobella on 9 May, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
