photo of the day (zen and the art of archery)

collecting_arrows

After a break for Winter, the Spring session of Wilderness Skills class has started up again. While the fall session focused on fire building skills (I had no idea there were so many different ways to build a fire) this session is focused on archery and bow hunting.

There are so many things I love about the programs at Great Hollow that it would be hard to list them all in one post. I know that while at Great Hollow, my son is learning respect for the Earth and it’s creatures, respect for his friends and the people around him, and a sense of independence that I don’t think I’d be able to give him by myself.

While I would love to keep him near me always just to make sure that he would be safe forever, I know I need to let him out into the world so that he can become the man he’s meant to be.

~ by photobella on 14 April, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
