photo of the day (happy birthday to me!)

spring_buds

Today is my birthday and  I couldn’t have ordered up a more glorious day. It rained during the night and the morning sun lit up last night’s rain drops like jewels. Everywhere I look things are budding and starting to bloom. I’m relishing the thought of warm, sunny days in the garden, walks in the park without jackets and riding without extra layers of clothing, gloves and frozen toes.

We didn’t do much to celebrate except be together as a family and enjoy each other’s company. After our school work was done, Nick and I played on the Wii and when Dad got home from work, he joined in. We had a nice dinner and then scattered to our own corners of the house. It was a quiet birthday, but special nonetheless. My dear, sweet hubby gave me a little extra cash to spend on myself. At this moment, I don’t have any idea of what to spend it on.

I have to admit that for a long time, my birthdays have not been a time of celebration. I’m not genetically predisposed to being a “glass half full” kind of person. My dad still calls me (yes, I am aware of the fact that he will be reading this at some point) and instead of asking “How are you?” he says “Is everybody ok?” as if he expects there to be something wrong. So my birthdays have been a time of looking at what I haven’t done and how much less time I have left to change that.

This birthday, I’m looking ahead. I really believe that learning to ride has a lot to do with that. I spent most of my childhood as a city kid obsessed with horses. I read about horses, I drew them and I dreamed about them, awake and asleep. This fixation on horses earned me the name, “Mrs. Ed,” stemming from the ’60s tv show about a talking horse. I still have my sixth grade autograph album with my classmates teases about my obsession. But there were no horses anywhere near where I grew up. I was told that learning to ride was something I could never have. So I told myself it would never happen for me and I learned to live with it.

It was an epiphany of epic proportion for me when I realized that there was no longer any reason I couldn’t learn to ride if I truly wanted to try. Not even the excuse of “I’m too old to start now” would hold any water. Everything I needed was right in front of me. And the only thing that would have stopped me from trying was . . . well, me. I figure that if at forty eleven years old, with no horse experience at all, I could get up on a horse and in only four or five months of weekly lessons start posting and steering a trot, well, what other mountains are there that I can climb? That I should climb?

So I’m looking ahead. And instead of thinking it might be all downhill from here, I’m thinking “Just wait. The best is yet to come.”

~ by photobella on 27 March, 2009.

One Response to “photo of the day (happy birthday to me!)”

  1. Happy Birthday to you, and the miracle of horses strikes again:)

Leave a Reply

 
