photo of the day

clare_tex_sepi

We rode outside today. It felt so good not to be in the indoor arena. Even the horses were in good moods because of the weather. I’ve never seen Texas this relaxed. The winter is hard on him.

I’d love to say that I had a great lesson. But I didn’t. It’s not that I didn’t love it. It was just that I couldn’t catch my stride and kept missing my diagonals. My instructor commented that she’d never seen me miss them so consistently. Oh well. Two steps forward, one step back.

Clare has been much more relaxed about her lessons. I think she had a real lightbulb moment when Kirsten made her mount and dismount over and over again until she got it right. Now she’s much more confident and can move on to the next step.

Funny thing is that while I know she loves riding and being at the barn and being around the horses, she doesn’t love them like I do. Riding and being around the horses is my dream.

I made her the offer of getting out of school early so that she could take a vaulting class with the homeschoolers on Tuesdays, but her response was that she didn’t want to miss clay class. That’s her passion and I have to respect it.  As much as I wanted to watch the class and learn vicariously through her, she’s not giving me that chance. I guess I have to find it on my own.

I told Kirsten I wanted to come and help out in the mornings and hopefully, next week I can start doing just that. I’m sure it will mostly be mucking stalls and turning out the horses but being a barn rat will be fine with me.

bella_sepia

~ by photobella on 17 March, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
