photo of the day

kiss_me_baby1

Kiss me, baby!

Ahh, Tuesdays. In some ways, they are a big pain in the you-know-what, but really, Tuesday is my most favorite day of the week. I bet by now some of you don’t even have to ask why. But I’ll tell you anyway, in case you are new here and don’t have a clue.

IT’S RIDING DAY!!!!

I was hoping to get to ride Oso today while Clare rode Texas but there was a mix-up about when my instructor was coming back from vacation so we stuck to the old program. I’m getting to be more self-sufficient around the barn these days so I got to trek through the mud and the muck (I really need to get a pair of Muck boots or at least a decent pair of Wellies for this!) and fetch Texas from his paddock and bring him around to the barn to get him tacked up. Clare and I brushed some of the mud off of him and we fetched his saddle and bridle. I haven’t put his bridle or saddle on him yet but I’m learning how. I admit that I prefer someone else to take care of his saddle — he hates having his girth tightening and gets pretty nippy. So I let Kirsten do it and give him a wide berth while she does.

jump1

The barn was really busy when we got there and and the arena was full as well. I remember being very intimidated when I had to ride for the first time in an arena filled with other riders. Now it’s not so hard at all. This is Kate working out one of the Friesians. I really wanted to get a good shot of him feeling his oats while on the line but taking pictures of a coal black horse in a white arena is as much fun as taking pictures of a black dog in snow.

Clare had a great lesson. Kirsten made her work on her mounting and her dismounting because she was having a bit of a hard time. On. Off. On. Off. Every time she’d hit poor Texas in the butt as she was mounting, she had to get off and try again. Finally, she got it. It was like a light came on and she got up on her stirrup, swung her leg over and was on. Lovely.

no_hands1

Then Kirsten had her riding without the reins. Clare had been complaining that Texas was going too fast for her when he trotted. But she rode him so well with her arms at her side. Really good progress. I was so proud.

Next, it was my turn. I got to ride without holding on, too. I worked on my trotting and Texas didn’t take off on me once.

Now I want you to prepare yourself because finally I have a picture of me riding. Just so you didn’t think I was making this all up!

i_ride1

Not the most impressive trot you’ve ever seen but by the time the camera came out, both Texas and I were getting tired. Yes, I know I need to work on my seat. My legs are too far forward and I’m working on that. With everything that I learn and feel like I don’t have to think about too hard anymore, another thing I have to focus on comes up. But that’s part of the beauty of it all.

~ by photobella on 10 March, 2009.

One Response to “photo of the day”

  1. Holy cow, that Frisian! Look mom, no feet!

Leave a Reply

 
