photo of the day (it’s a mental health thing)

nick_luath

Neither Clare nor I could wake up this morning. It wasn’t that we were sick. It’s just that neither of us wanted to play today. We needed more sleep. I looked at her and knew she would fight me tooth and nail about getting up and going to school. She said “Mom, I’m tired.” I was too. She had been doing really well, considering all she had to go through the past couple of weeks. She had been on time to school every day since vacation ended (ok, all 3 of them but for Clare that’s a lot.) I could tell that if I forced the issue, the day would not go well. And so I declared it a mental health day. For all of us.

divining_clare

I believe for it to be a true mental health day, one has to do something to improve one’s mental health. That does not include sitting in front of a tv or a computer or even staying inside. So while we slept in a little, and lounged around a bit more, I made sure we took advantage of the exceptionally mild weather that wasn’t going to be with us for long. I packed up the kids and the dog and headed to the park. Despite the Mud and the Icy Patches on the path, we made it twice around. I think there is something healing about the smell of wet earth and things starting to thaw.

Clare and I still needed more mental healing and while we tried to convince Nick to join us, he had Other Things He Wanted To Do. So I dropped him and the dog at home and Clare and I drove over to the Aldrich Museum in Ridgefield to get Inspired and To See What We Could See.

lacey

We hadn’t been to the Aldrich in a long time. When I asked the docent who took our admission about their photography policy, he said I couldn’t take any pictures of the art. I said I didn’t mind, I don’t usually take pictures of other people’s art. I try and make my own. What I didn’t realize was that some of the pieces in the museum were so wonderful that I would really want to take pictures of them, simply so I could have a reminder of just how wonderful they were.

One of my favorites was an artist who had a sense of humor that reminded me of the work of Vic MunizAlejandro Diaz presented a series of multi-media works that included a life sized diorama for making tortillas. In front of the diorama was a sign that read, “Make your own damn tortillas. I’m outta here. Lupe.” There was a piece made of 4 colorful stacked birdcages. In 3 of the 4 birdcages were artificial birds. The 4th cage was empty and a small sign attached to it read, ” Lost Our Lease.”

I also loved his series of cardboard signs similar to those held by panhandlers. Some of the sayings included: Emotionally Moving Sale, By Disappointment Only and In The Future Everyone Will Be Famous for $15.oo. His pieces were funny but with an edginess that reflected an underlying politcal message.

cut_out

There was a fabulous piece of sculpture by a Korean artist, Kwang-Young Chun. The pictures on the website don’t do it justice. The piece was made of the recycled pages of old Korean books and medicine wrappers printed on mulberry paper. The pages are wrapped like origami, into the small shapes that are then incorporated into the intricate form. It rises like a tree from a sea of smaller pieces of the sculpture. It is an amazing piece and I could have stared at it for hours.

Full Circle: Ten Years of Radius feature the works of many local artists.

I tried to satisfy myself by shooting a few pictures in the bookstore. It was ok, but not enough. There’s a new exhibit opening on Sunday and if we don’t get there to see it then, I know I’ll head back again soon. I’d really like to go and look at everything at least one more time.

Isn’t creativity incredible? I am sure my mental health has been greatly improved.

~ by photobella on 27 February, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
