photo of the day (when there are things to be done)

hat_dry_brush

It was an uneventful day. As always, there were lots of Things to Be Done so after a brief workout with a recently acquired exercise DVD, Clare and I headed out to get those Things Done.

Our first stop was the library to return a few overdue books. In case you are interested, I live in a small town. It is a typical New England town filled with lots of History. One of the highlights is that the town was the final home of humorist and author, Mark Twain. While his house in Hartford, CT was turned into a museum and is much more well known, Twain and his family spent his last two years here in the town where I am fortunate enough to live. While he was here, he decided that what this town needed was a library. He built one and now, when I head to the library, I have Mark Twain to thank. I love our library. While I have access and book privileges at libraries in all the nearby towns, none of them hold a candle to the library that Mark Twain built.

teapots

After the library, we decided to make a stop for lunch at a small restaurant by the local train station. We’ve been going to this restaurant in it’s various incarnations since we moved here in 1993. I was friends with one of the original owners back when my now 14 year old son was just born. She and I used the same midwife and both had similarly bad experiences. But that’s a whole other story.

painted_muffins

I think what I love most about the restaurant is that no matter how many times I’ve been there, no matter how grown up I’m supposed to be, every time I hear a whistle blow signaling an approaching train I still want to get up from my table and look.  I cannot tell you how many times my kids have run out those restaurant doors in the middle of a meal to watch the train pulling into the station.

painted_mugs

As much as I wanted to linger over lunch, there were still those pesky Things To Be Done and so we headed into the next town to do them. Did I mention that I lived in a small town? Well, aside from the usual town things like a library, town hall, fire station, post office, one drug store and a couple of restaurants there is no real business district. Ok, so there is a wine store and a C-store on the other side of town but when I go shopping I have to leave the town I live in and venture into another town.

painted_ice_cream

This other town has a real shopping district. There are plenty of shops and restaurants and honest to goodness grocery stores in this town. We visited the pet store to get some crickets for the five green frogs who are spending the winter in a tank in our playroom. And while there were still more Things to Be Done, we managed to find some time to stop for ice cream.

soda_pop

We lingered in the sweet shoppe for a bit and stopped in the bookstore next door before getting down and dirty and heading to the grocery store. I hate grocery shopping and avoid it whenever possible but even I had to admit that I had let the cupboards get barer than Old Mother Hubbard this time and so I had to shop in earnest.

painted_purses

The rest of the day was filled with putting groceries away and cleaning the playroom for the arrival of my BFF’s daughters who will be spending this weekend with us while their mom and dad are in Boston for a wedding.

And yes, all the Things That Needed to be Done were Done after all. Well, maybe not All of them. But tomorrow is another day.

~ by photobella on 19 February, 2009.

3 Responses to “photo of the day (when there are things to be done)”

  1. I live in a small town too, and today I must venture out to the bigger town. Grocery shopping is on my list as well as a Horse Expo. Hopefully that is where I will get my POTD. I love the shot of the kids looking out the window. So whimsical.

    • A horse expo! Sounds like fun.

      I moved here from the big city and boy, was it a change. When we first got up here we were 20 minutes from the nearest grocery store. I asked my landlady what she did if she ran out of milk and she replied “I try not to.”

      I got used to it after awhile but I still miss living in a place where everything you needed was only a few blocks away and if you couldn’t go out and get it, you could always have it delivered.

      Last year the big news was that a local pizzeria decided to start delivering. Ahh, small town life. And to think I’m only a hour and a half outside of NYC.

  2. The bottles and kids through the window images are great!

    Your Connecticut is a whole lot different than mine was (in that city on the sound with the big university)…

Leave a Reply

 
