photo of the day (a winter day at Longshore)

nick_and-molls_skate

We met our friends at Longshore Park for some ice skating by the Sound. I knew there was a rink there but never thought of going. Outdoor skating by the water tuns out to be a really lovely thing to do. Ok, to watch, as I didn’t actually skate, but stayed on dry land observing the fun with my camera.

The kids had a good time although in my opinion, the ratio of actual skating to cost of admission and skate rental was not high enough. After a brief time on the ice, they defaulted to the inside area to drink sodas and laugh and talk. Nick was the only male figure amongst a gaggle of girls that included his sister and Molly’s, a few of Molly’s friends and assorted Moms. He didn’t seem to mind at all.

swan_lake

I can’t be at Longshore for very long without heading towards the water to take some pictures. I spotted a swan or two or three by the shore and I sat and took a few shots before Clare and Bing joined me outside. Clare bought a pretzel to feed the swans and they stood and threw little pieces in the water until both they and the swans got bored of the game.

swan_feeding

I took tons of pictures of the swans and I like so many of them that it was hard to choose which ones to post.

wingspan

I caught this guy flying over to check out the girls as they were throwing pretzels to another swan.

sleeping

This one was peeking out from under one wing as we were leaving to go home and gather up things for a double sleepover at Molly’s house. Can you believe that I will have time to myself for almost an entire day? Ahhh, what to do first?

~ by photobella on 16 February, 2009.

2 Responses to “photo of the day (a winter day at Longshore)”

  1. I really like your swan pictures. Lovely reflections.

  2. Your swan images are gorgeous! Simply lovely ~

Leave a Reply

 
