photo of the day (a hint of spring)

snowy_leaf

A Light exists in Spring by Emily Dickinson
A Light exists in Spring
Not present on the Year
At any other period —
When March is scarcely here

A Color stands abroad
On Solitary Fields
That Science cannot overtake
But Human Nature feels.

It waits upon the Lawn,
It shows the furthest Tree
Upon the furthest Slope you know
It almost speaks to you.

Then as Horizons step
Or Noons report away
Without the Formula of sound
It passes and we stay —

A quality of loss
Affecting our Content
As Trade had suddenly encroached
Upon a Sacrament.

We had coop today and as usual, I was focused completely on making sure that my lesson was just right for today’s photography class. I sat at a table with my computer in front of me and I would have missed today’s glimpse of spring if it hadn’t been for the fact that I was on the list to be outdoor monitor at lunchtime. So I put on my jacket and my scarf and ventured outside only to find that I was overdressed for the glorious day.
pink_boots

When we got home from coop I threw on Clare’s pink boots that just barely fit me and went outside to find an image that would capture the sights and smells of a spring day in winter.

Just how do you translate the loamy smell of the earth slowly being revealed by melting snow into a photograph? The slushy, mushy mud, the sun that not just brightens but warms everything it touches. The sound of children happy to be outside playing and dogs barking for you to kick the ball just once more.

Makes me think I might just make it through the winter.

~ by photobella on 11 February, 2009.

3 Responses to “photo of the day (a hint of spring)”

  1. Just when it seems like winter is going to go on and on and on forever, spring starts to show itself. It’s like winter is just long enough and spring starts to come and exactly the right moment. A miracle!

    Thanks for the poem. 🙂

  2. I so know what you are talking about. I love that smell of winter leaving and spring trying to begin. Lovely composition of the leaf in the snow.

  3. Beautiful imagery (visual and written)!

Leave a Reply

 
