photo of the day

run_looby_run

The weather has been crummy. Cold. Way too cold for walking outside. This morning was gloriously mild, so after I dropped the girl off at school (late as usual) the dog and I headed to the park. As always, the moment we pull into the parking lot, Looby began to sing his howly little happy song. Ahh, the park! What bliss! What joy!

If we are lucky enough and there isn’t anyone else around I can let him off the leash. Usually, the first thing he does is run up the hill and pee on the sign that states firmly, “Dogs must be on Leash,”  Then there are sniffs to be sniffed, smells to be smelled, and markings to make to be sure all the other dogs know he was there.

He runs ahead of me, he veers off the path, he waits to see if I am following. He lets me catch up to him and then sprints away. I call him every back now and again and he runs at me full speed, zipping between my legs and falling behind, before he turns around and dashes on ahead once more.

We make it twice around the park; once is just not enough. Besides, you never know —  you might have missed a sniff or two the first time around. Then it’s time to head for home and start our days; his on the couch and mine at the computer. I’m still not sure which one of us has had more fun.

~ by photobella on 2 February, 2009.

One Response to “photo of the day”

  1. Loved your post, especially, the peeing on the sign! I have 3 labs, I can so relate!

Leave a Reply

 
