photo of the day (what can be sweeter than a cupcake in the morning?)

cuppy_cakes

Ok, I’ll admit it. I was bored. And I wanted something to take a picture of — something new and exciting and colorful and fun. And maybe even good to eat as well. So I made cupcakes. I’m not much of a baker, really. But I’ve been spending some time with Jane Brockett’s book “The Gentle Art of Domesticity” and the idea of baking and then taking pictures of baked goods just seemed like an awfully good idea. I made a batch of vanilla cupcakes and frosted them in lovely yet unnatural colors just like Jane’s. I found a pretty plate that would show off my cupcakes just right.

Now I have a confession to make. I made these cupcakes last night. The night of the snowy, messy, slushy day. And when they were ready, I tried to take a picture of them. But artificial light and unnatural cupcake colors just don’t mix. The cupcakes looked ghoulish, with harsh shadows falling on the plate. Not yummy. At all.

Jane Brockett’s cupcakes always look yummy.

I wanted my cupcakes to look yummy, too. I wanted my cupcakes to make you want to eat cupcakes. Maybe want to eat them so much that you would have to find a recipe and make your own cupcakes. Maybe even take a picture or two of your cupcakes and blog about them before you and yours scarfed them all down.

Then it came to me. I bet Jane doesn’t take pictures of her baked goods under artificial light. I bet Jane makes her cupcakes and takes pictures of them in lovely, morning light. The kind of light that makes everything look yummy and scrummy. So I carefully packed up my cupcakes and went to bed, with visions of morning light and a cupcake photo shoot filling my dreams.

The morning came with that lovely, clear light that only happens in winter. I set my cupcakes on my plate and proceeded to click away to my hearts content. And while I may not be as well known as Jane Brockett in the cupcake blogging world, I think I did her proud.

And if you’re inspired to make and photograph your own sweet treats, here’s the recipe I used from a blog called the Joy of Baking:

Vanilla Cupcakes

~ by photobella on 29 January, 2009.

One Response to “photo of the day (what can be sweeter than a cupcake in the morning?)”

  1. Those cupcakes do indeed look yummy and scrummy. If they were in my house they wouldn’t have survived the night to see the light of day. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
