photo of the day

red_maple

Just a quick post to play catch up before Clare and I head into NYC and the Museum of Natural History. I’m letting her play hookey from school one more day as she would only have a half-day anyway due to Teacher Conferences. Us girlz are on our own this weekend as da boyz are headed on a road trip to visit Zki’s roots in Ohio.

What is there to say? I’ve been very caught up in the elections for the past year or more, hoping against hope that we could make a change to the current tide of misery that has been inflicted upon us by Bush & Company. Then election day arrived and I did my due dilegence, voted my conscience and proceeded to not watch tv or listen to the radio for the rest of the day. I just couldn’t take the stress. I knew that when I woke up on Wednesday morning, there would be a new President and I was content to avoid the tension and wait until then. So all evening I turned my attention to my knitting and hoped for the best.

And the best happened. President-Elect Obama. Now I can say that I live in a time when my children can see a man of color and his family living in the White House. Remarkable.

buck

I am hopeful about the future of our country for the first time in 8 years.

Now we move on into the future and get back to the day to day routines. I take my daughter to school and homeschool my son. I try and keep my house clean and orderly and everyone fed, healthy and happy. Every once and a while I remember to pay a bill or two.

boyz

I try to embrace the many moments that make up my week and catch a minute of being able to enjoy what is right in front of me without stressing too much over what could or should be.

red_leaf_luath

I’m enjoying the last days of fall. The unusually warm weather doesn’t hurt a bit. I’m feeling a little more optimistic even about the coming of winter and hoping that I can catch a little bit of the beauty of each day even if it’s cold and gray. For a glass half empty kind of person, seeing the glass half full feels pretty darn good.

~ by photobella on 7 November, 2008.

2 Responses to “photo of the day”

  1. Love the Gallery! Visited with my son last week. Talked to Shel for the first time in years as a result.

    After reading your post today, though you might like this post from another worthwhile blog:

    http://evidenceanecdotal.blogspot.com/2008/11/politics.html#links

  2. Joe,

    I’m so glad you stopped in. I’m sorry I wasn’t there to meet you.

    I’m glad you hooked up with Shel — did he get you a copy of that picture of you and Ilsa? It’s a great shot.

    Thanks for the link. I always appreciate finding something intelligent to read on the web.

    I’ll send you a card with our upcoming show — maybe you can stop by for the reception on the 22 November.

    Best,
    Susan

Leave a Reply

 
