photo of the day

Somehow I let myself get lulled into a false sense that the fall would last forever. Well, maybe not forever but at least a little longer. Then the rain and wind came and yesterday was cold and nasty. At least we missed out on the snow that fell in other parts of the tri-state area.There is still a part of me that thinks this will be a fluke of nature and that we can go back to the cool mornings and warm sunny days that we have been enjoying up until now. Realistically, I know that isn’t in the cards.

Somehow I need to just hunker down and admit that winter is going to happen whether I like it or not. I don’t.

Our day to day activities press on despite the weather. Nick had his day at Great Hollow and I had my one day of the week mostly to myself. I went to get my hair done, ran some errands and had some time at home. But as always, the day flew by and before I knew it it was time to pick up Clare at school.

Clare had her first riding lesson with a saddle today. After vaulting one day, she asked me if she could try a regular lesson. I thought that a little extra horse time plus learning different riding skills might give her more confidence in her vaulting class. I checked and it turned out that Kirsten could fit her in on Tuesdays in the afternoon. If we switched my lessons to the afternoon as well,  I wouldn’t have to drive out to the farm twice in one day.

So despite the wind and the rain, Clare and I headed out to the farm right after school. I still don’t have pictures of me riding. I don’t know how that is going to happen unless I can convince either my husband or son to come with me to our lessons. But someday I hope to be able to post some pictures of me here as well.

We rode in the indoor ring for the first time and there were other riders there as well; two new experiences for me.

Another new experience for me was learning to post on the diagonal. It’s not enough that you have to rise out of the seat as the horse trots, now I’m supposed to do it only when the horse’s outside leg goes forward in his gait. Like there isn’t enough to think about already. Then after the security of trotting and posting while Texas was on a lunge line, I got to try it on my own.

Remember how I mentioned that there were other riders in the ring? Well, these were more experienced riders than I am and they were going faster than I’ve gone on Texas off the lunge line. Texas, being the kind of horse he is, decided that faster was fun. And taking me by surprise in the midst of my concentration on not only trotting for the first time off the line but trying to gauge which of his massive shoulders was going forward while trying to remember how to steer at the same time was probably the most fun he’d had in weeks. Really. What a brat.

I made it through the humiliation of being taken advantage of by a horse. Was it my imagination or was he actually laughing at me? Then my lesson was over and it was time to let Clare ride.

She did a great job for the first time. Kirsten let her walk Texas around the ring and get a feel for him. They worked on steering (I’m sure that isn’t the right word but I don’t know what else to call it) and then she put Texas on the lunge line so Clare could start learning how to post a trot.

Luckily for Clare, Texas wasn’t being quite as bratty as he was with me but I think that was because Kirsten was always much closer by than when I was riding. I will have another chance next week to work on trotting off the lunge line and I may ask if I can try a sitting trot first to get a handle on the extra speed while I’m working on guiding Texas around the ring. Then I’ll get into the posting while watching if I’m on the right diagonal. Nobody told me there was so much to think about while riding!

What I’d really like to do is join in on Clare’s vaulting class. Am I nuts or what?

~ by photobella on 28 October, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
