photo of the day

I just wanted to get this out of the way and say that I did not watch last night’s debates. There was a part of me that wanted to just out of curiosity but I really didn’t need to watch. I know who I’m voting for and one more debate wasn’t going to change that. Gail Collins voiced my feelings appropriately in today’s NY Times:

“None of their effort during the debate was for those of us who have been with them since the beginning. At this point, they only care about the small chunk of undecided voters in swing states. That means a handful of people in Ohio who have managed to avoid noticing that Obama and McCain disagree on virtually every important issue facing the nation and continue to insist that they are torn between them”

Instead of watching the debates, I got Clare ready for bed, read a couple of chapters of Black Beauty with her before I kissed her goodnight, looked at some knitting patterns in a book I got from the library, read my email and went to sleep early. It was a long day yesterday and today promises to be the same.

My focus in these last weeks has not been the election or the economy (although it does add a level of anxiety to my state of mind) but getting some decent shots of the fall foliage before it fades and the leaves are gone. Last year we had some pretty heavy rain storms that knocked the leaves down early and made the season less than spectacular. But this year, the colors are brighter than I remember them being in a long time and the weather warmer and more pleasant with consistently blue skies. This makes for great foliage pictures.

However the real trick of getting great pictures (in my not so humble opinion) is being at the right place at the right time. Since my favorite time to take pictures is either early in the morning or late in the afternoon and most days, I’m taking Clare to school or picking her up and then rushing to be somewhere else right after that, getting time to focus on taking pictures hasn’t always been that easy.

Being able to spend time in the woods at Great Hollow helps a great deal.

A walk through Putnam Park doesn’t hurt either.

Hopefully, today, in the midst of all my comings and goings I will get a chance to take a moment and catch some more images of the beauty of fall.

~ by photobella on 16 October, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
