photo of the days

I’m catching up on this blog yet again. I can’t seem to get myself to want to write much these days. There are things I simply don’t want to think about, let alone write about. Like the fact that my pastor has Parkinson’s disease, an diagnosis shared by my mother and now I will be watching not one, but two people I love have to deal with this terrible affliction.

Then there’s the election. I am coming to realize more and more that we really have very little say in who runs our government. One on hand, there are the Democrats who from what I can tell are just as complicit in our current financial crises as are the Republicans. Then there are the Republicans who are running their “Maverick,” John McCain, with a platform of “change” that is a mere repeat of the miserable rhetoric that got us into the mess we are in in the first place. And don’t get me started on that bulldog with lipstick, Sarah Palin. Anyone who is dumb enough to believe that she is in any way fit to be that close to the Presidency truly deserves what this country will become if the “Palin/McCain” ticket makes it into the White House.  I know she has great foreign policy experience because she can see Russia from her home in Alaska. If I had known that was what qualified a person to run for office, I could have run for Governor of New York because I can see it from Connecticut. Maybe it’s her great grasp of energy policies. And I quote (from an article in Salon):

“At a town hall on Wednesday night, Palin was asked how she would keep domestically produced oil and coal in the U.S. Here’s her answer:

Of course, it’s a fungible commodity and they don’t flag, you know, the molecules, where it’s going and where it’s not. But in the sense of the Congress today, they know that there are very, very hungry domestic markets that need that oil first. So, I believe that what Congress is going to do, also, is not to allow the export bans to such a degree that it’s Americans who get stuck holding the bag without the energy source that is produced here, pumped here. It’s got to flow into our domestic markets first.”

Tell me you know what she just said. You can see a You Tube video of this comment here.

This is why I haven’t posted much. It’s hard to be hopeful in a pretty hopeless world.

So how do I segue from that to fairy buns? How ’bout “Let ’em eat cake?”

My secret desire these days is to be Jane Brocket. I read her blog, Yarnstorm, with relish and spend many hours leafing through her just released in the US book, The Gentle Art of Domesticity. Thumbing through the pages makes me want to quilt, to garden and bake to my heart’s delight. I want to watch old English comedies and read Victorian novels. Ah, Jane Brocket, you are my idol!

When Clare’s teacher told me it was time to celebrate Clare’s birthday with her classmates at school and that this would be the last year I would be invited to join them, I knew the occasion called for Jane’s Fairy Buns. Brightly colored, loaded with sugar, butter and eggs Fairy Buns. Nothing healthy or nutricious involved in these little babies. I’m not sure what I’ll do about the one child that can’t eat sugar. An apple, maybe? But when I show up at the class celebration on Thursday I will be bringing 2 dozen of Jane’s finest.


I’m holding on to the summer so hard these days that I think I’m in denial that tomorrow is the first day of fall. The weather has been kind to me and despite a few very chilly nights, the days are still warm. There are  tomatoes to be picked and cucumbers to find hidden among the tangle of leaves along the still growing vine. Clare and her class are going to Warrups Farm again on Friday afternoons to help Farmer Bill with his harvest.

I am so not looking forward to this coming winter with it’s short, grey days and the poor excuse of a season that is spring in New England. Maybe if I keep taking pictures, I can capture the best of it and it won’t seem so hard or so long.

~ by photobella on 20 September, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
