photo of the day

Summer is winding down faster than I like to think. It’s getting chilly at night and I’m nervous about all those green tomatoes in my garden that have yet to ripen and all the peppers that need to get larger before I can pick them.

I’m still spending most of my days by the Sound but that will come to an end in a day or two when Nick finishes his sailing class.

In the meantime, we are still exploring and discovering as much as we can while we are there. Nick’s friend Chris has been visiting from his new home in Texas and he and I came upon bunches of these tiny crabs under some rocks at high tide. Every time we’d lift up a rock, a crab would scurry out and find another large rock to hide under. It took Nick to come by and pick one up so we could take a closer look.

I don’t know what took me so long (maybe I knew it would be addicting and therefore expensive) but I started renting a kayak while Nick goes out for his sailing lesson. My excuse the first time was that I had Chris with me and I needed to entertain him, so we went out exploring on the water while Nick had his class.

The second time I had both Chris and Clare with me. I didn’t take a camera out on the boat with me for the first few trips mostly because I wanted to just look and not be distracted. I had been seeing so many wonderful things from the shore and it was even more fun to see them from the water. The birds weren’t as quick to fly away while we glided past them in the kayak. I finally got to catch sight of a Great Blue Heron although I didn’t get a picture of him.

I don’t know if it was the weather or the angle of the sun or what but everything looked much prettier from where I sat on the water.

I haven’t been exercising regularly for way too long and paddling the kayak feels really good.

I think this has been one of the best summers I’ve had in a long time.

Just so you don’t think we spend all our time near the water, Clare and I headed out to the Creamery in Newtown for ice cream this afternoon and I grabbed this shot of the cows coming across the road and up to the barn for their evening milking. Zki doesn’t like to get ice cream there in the midst of all the cow fields. I just figure “eau de cow poo” and ice cream is an acquired taste.

~ by photobella on 20 August, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
