photo of the day

Another day at Longshore. What could be bad? Not much time for shooting, though. Too much other stuff that needed to be done. Those pesky things like buying food for the family and the like.

Nick is enjoying his sailing class. It must be heavenly out there on the water.

As for me, I’m having one of those moments where I’m pretty sure that my photography is mediocre at best and I’ll never get past opening my own gallery where hardly anyone looks and no one buys anything.

I’m thinking I need to work harder at my photography. I’m thinking a self-assignment of the day might be in order. I’m getting into this point and shoot mode that while I get some pretty pictures, I’m not taking advantage of what I could be getting if I worked a little harder at it.

Yes, I think I will be working on some depth of field tomorrow. Maybe it is a blessing in disguise that my favorite 18 to 200mm lens is out for repair.

~ by photobella on 13 August, 2008.

One Response to “photo of the day”

  1. Hang in there. I am at a standstill . . . totally with my photography. I have let life get in my way. I still snap a few here and there with whatever camera is near to me, and I try to post as often as I can, but I am not beating myself up about it. I will have plenty of time to explore photography when my girls grow up. Yes, they provide great opportunities to take fun photos, but they deserve my attention and I felt like I was getting too absorbed in the camera and computer. So let your creativity rest and if you are a true artist, you will get inspired and HAVE to shoot and HAVE to record that image. I see it it with our artists here. I don’t know that I can classify myself as an artist quite yet,but you certainly have a huge head start on me, with lots and lots of years of technical knowledge that I don’t have under my belt yet. It is like dancing. you gotta learn ballet before you can do jazz, tap or hip hop. It is a backbone. So, don’t be so hard on yourself and just enjoy the summer.

Leave a Reply

 
