photo of the da(ze)

I’m combining two days worth of pictures into this one post mostly because nothing really outstanding happened to distinguish one day from the other.

One day was a little more stormy than the next but that’s been the pattern this summer. There haven’t been too many days without a rainshower or thunderstorm.

I’m still spending my weekdays at Longshore and while I’m enjoying it thoroughly, it’s been hard to get anything done like food shopping and other errands that have to be done because once I’m there I don’t want to leave. The upside is that I can sit under a tree and work on the Gallery website to my heart’s content while listening to the sounds of the shore: seagulls screeching, egrets calling in their gravelly voices and children playing in the pool. The downside is that we are out of most of the staples: there is no bread for sandwiches, no butter, no cereal and almost no juice. I guess I’ll have to tear myself away at some point and go shopping. Lucky for us, there are veggies in the garden and plenty to throw on the grill in the downstairs freezer.

I’m having one of those days and I’m hoping it’s hormones because everything I read in the NY Times this morning or on the NPR website made me want to scream and tear my hair out. I won’t go into details but suffice it to say that the prospect of a McCain presidency makes me want to move to a deserted island somewhere, the fact that so many people are willing to watch the Olympics despite the horrendous conditions in China makes me want to scream and just the thought that people believe that offshore drilling will help bring down the cost of oil in my lifetime just convinces me that HL Mencken was right when he said:

“No one in this world has ever lost money by underestimating the intelligence of the great masses of the plain people. Nor has anyone ever lost public office thereby.”

Ok, enough ranting for the morning. It’s time to wake up my daughter so she can enjoy her last few days of camp. Nick can sleep in because his activity doesn’t start until 11:30 am. He is thoroughly enjoying his Basic Sailing course. It’s much more challenging than the Start Boating Right class that he just finished and there are kids closer to his own age in the class as well. He towered over the littler kids in his last class and since he was the biggest and oldest, ended up doing most of the hard work.

I’m figuring you have had enough of my whining for the day so I’m leaving with a parting shot of what I believe to be the last Osprey in the nest. I have a picture I posted on another day of 3 little heads peering over the nesting platform. Now, I’m pretty sure this guy is the only one left before he takes his great leap and flies away. I am going to try and remember to check this nest next year and see if I can watch the progression from the beginning when they return to Westport from points south in March.

~ by photobella on 12 August, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
