photo of the day (a Sunday in Mystic)

We planned to go to Mystic to check out their Art Festival but when we all woke up bright and early, the weather predictions foretold severe thunderstorms and generally bad weather. So we sat on the couch and watched the weather channel on tv and surfed the net a bit until we decided that taking the risk and going was a better option than sitting on the couch for the rest of the day, waiting for the weather to get bad.

This has been a summer full of rain and thunderstorms at least once a day since July and it hasn’t stopped us yet, so why should we let it now?

So off we went.

Mystic was a seaport town back in it’s day. Now it’s mostly a tourist destination known for the historical seaport restoration and the aquarium. There is a cute little downtown area full of shops, inns and places to eat. I was surprised when I realized how long it’s been since we have been here. I think the last time was an overnight visit that the kids and I took one summer almost 5 years ago. I still have memories of my parents taking me here when I was a kid.

Here’s Clare having a little snack before we hit the art show in earnest.

The Art Festival filled Downtown Mystic and spilled into the side streets. There was so much to see that it was almost overwhelming. But the weather held out and it was a gorgeous day despite the predictions. So we walked and looked at the paintings, photography and crafts until we had walked the entire show.

When we were in California and I was taking pictures, it was all about the scenery. Today in Mystic, I found myself focusing more on the details.

The town of Mystic is full of wonderful old houses. The true blue sky set off the peak of this house just right.

This little guy sat and greeted visitors in front of one of the houses.

This is a detail of the Mystic River Bridge.

This is the cross on top of one of the churches on the town’s main street.

A weather vane pointing south.

We stopped to get lunch and this gem of a car was in the parking lot. The gentleman who owned it was sitting in the restaurant and had seen Nick snapping pictures of the car before coming in so he invited him to sit in the car if he wanted. Zki went out and took some pictures of Nick in the car but I haven’t seen them yet.

I liked the colors of this leaf against the dark river water.

Doesn’t this little guy look like he’s checking himself out in the mirror. Maybe he’s making sure there aren’t any bugs in his teeth.

Here’s my princess. I think she gets prettier every day. But then I’m only a little biased.

~ by photobella on 10 August, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
