photo of the day

Nick didn’t believe I could do and frankly, even I had my doubts but I went for my walk around the golf course without my camera. You don’t get much exercise if you are stopping every 5 feet to take another picture. (Nick was surprised I could make it 5 feet without taking a picture.

But I did. My camera is heavy and I need to get back in shape so I just walked and watched and reminded myself of a John Mayer song where he says “Didn’t have a camera by my side this time. Hopin’ I could see the world through both my eyes.” It’s one of my favorite songs on his Room for Squares album.

So I walked for the sake of walking and took the risk that I would see the perfect shot and not be able to take it because I had left my camera in the car. Lucky for me when I came upon this group of egrets, large and small, I was just a very short distance from the car and my camera. I quickly finished my loop around and hurried back, hoping that most of them would still be there so I could get them all gathered together searching for fish. I had never seen them in a group like that before. They are usually chasing each other away if they get too close but today they seemed more tolerant of each other.

In case you are wondering, the larger ones with the yellow bills are the Great Whites and the smaller one with the black beak is a Snowy Egret.

Here’s a Great White who managed to catch a little something to eat.

And another who is still looking. I hope you aren’t bored of my Egret pictures. I just think they are so graceful and beautiful to watch.

I came upon my friend, the Little Blue Heron, fishing in the same spot where I discovered him the other day. I like this shot because his neck has such a lovely curve to it as he scans the water for something to eat.

Here’s a parting shot of the clouds as they were forming over the Longshore Sailing School as Nick and I were getting ready to go. They were massive and looked like white, fluffy mountains rising into the blue sky. It’s such a treat to get to spend the rest of my summer by the Sound.

~ by photobella on 7 August, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
