photo of the day

I dropped Nick off at his sailing class today and went off to explore and take some pictures. When we get to the shore the tide is still on the high side but it is on it’s way out and an hour later it’s pretty low. I was looking out onto the water and noticed some strange movement in the water. As I got closer, I noticed that what I was seeing was large schools of tiny fish. I don’t know if you can make them out but there were thousands of them. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such large numbers.

After I left Nick, I got my monopod and Nick’s lens and went for a walk to see what I could see. I like Nick’s lens a lot but it isn’t a very fast lens and at it’s fullest zoom, it can get kinda soft. So the monopod is very helpful to keep steady and get a clearer image. A tripod would have been better but it was very hot today and I really wasn’t into lugging one around.

The above picture is a Great Egret. They are a pretty common site around water of any kind it seems. I have spotted them up in Redding near the Lonetown Marsh.

This is a Snowy Egret. It’s smaller than a Great Egret by a bunch and it’s beak is black and feet are yellow. I don’t think I realized until today when I saw them together by the shore, that I had been seeing 2 different kinds of birds. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Snowy Egret anyway but by the shore.

I managed to get a clearer picture of my Piping Plover today. Not great, but better than yesterday.

I thought this was a cool shot of a mother sparrow feeding her baby.

I didn’t want to pay the inflated prices at the Longshore snack shack so I stopped at Trader Joe’s and picked up a sandwich and something to drink and sat by the Saugatuck River near the library to eat. I took this picture of the swan on the river.

I finally ventured off towards the golf course and my ultimate goal of getting an in-focus picture of the baby egrets. This isn’t the best shot (it is in focus, though) but you can see that there are 3 baby birds in the nest.

Here’s a shot of Mom and 2 of her babes.

This is the best shot I’ve gotten (IMO) so far. I can’t wait to see what I get tomorrow!

~ by photobella on 31 July, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
