photo of the day (catching up)

I’d like to lie to you all and say that I’ve been religiously taking photos every day and just too lazy to post, but that would not be the truth. The truth is that I didn’t go near my camera for the better part of the week since we have been back from our trip to the West Coast. There are a few (and I feel valid) reasons for this:

1. Jetlag. The first few days I was back I couldn’t seem to get to sleep before midnight but for some strange and unknown reason, couldn’t stay asleep past 4:30 to 5:30 in the morning.

2. Unpacking, cleaning and doing laundry are not the kind of activities that inspire photography.

3. I was immersed in culling, printing and framing the best of my San Francisco trip photos for the Gallery for our weekend Summer Fest.

4. I was just plain ol’ tired of looking at the world through a camera lens. When you are pretty much shooting every day, 24-7 for almost 10 days there is a certain amount of burnout involved.

I have finally caught my breath and am getting back into some kind of a routine. Our suitcases are unpacked and we all have clean undies again. We even made it through the miserably hot and disappointing Bethel SummerFest. It was not only too hot to breathe for all 3 days of the event but it managed to regularly rain and chase away everyone who ventured out in the oppressive heat. (This is where I start to whine and tell you how much nicer it was in California. Despite the fires. And the fog. And the fact that it was too chilly most days to even want to go swimming. At least it wasn’t 90 something degrees with 90 something percent humidity. Ok, I’m lying — it was pretty hot in some parts of California while we were there. I’m told that the day after we spent time with Jon at the lake up in Napa, it was 100 degrees. It was pretty hot when we were driving around Berkeley, but for most of our trip, we managed to stay where it didn’t go much over 70 degrees.)

But we are back on the East Coast again. And Clare has started camp so here is my annual picture of her waiting for the bus on her first day. There is no documentation of the “Mommy Happy Dance” that I do in the driveway after the bus has pulled away (I do it in secret) but I did it this year like I have for the past 4 years since she stared going to camp. She’s happy. I’m happy. Next week I’ll be even happier when Nick starts his sailing lessons.

I’ve taken my macro lens out since we have been home. In California, everything was big picture, wide angle, zoom lens kind of shooting for me. I haven’t used my macro in a while and this bug (also the many flowers that have burst open in the garden in the short time we were away) was the perfect opportunity to get up close. When I was taking the picture and focusing on the teeny little transparent bugger, I thought the little round thing up above him on the leaf was a drop of water. As I look closer at the photo, I’m sure it is not water. Maybe an egg sac that the bug crawled out of? I can’t tell. What do you think?

I’m ending this catch-up post with an obligatory cute dog shot. I call it “Black Dog on a White Chair.” The dogs survived our trip away thanks to the kindness of my sister-in-law, niece and exceptional neighbors. Lisa came and visited the puppies several times a day and made sure they were fed, watered and had some outside time. My lovely neighbors also came and spent some quality time with them. They weren’t happy that we were gone, but they weren’t alone. Here’s my note of gratitude because we wouldn’t have been able to have such a care-free vacation without them. Thanks guys!

~ by photobella on 21 July, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
