photo of the day

It was a pretty ordinary day as days go. I spent too much time on my computer and didn’t get started doing the stuff I really needed to do until late in the morning. It hasn’t been warm enough to want to go to the lake these days. The temperature doesn’t seem to climb out of the 70s and I don’t like to head to the beach unless it’s at least 80 degrees. Clare wanted to get a hat to go with her outfit for a party tomorrow and Nick needed another controller for his PS2 so I told them that after lunch we could go to the mall.

The mall wasn’t very crowded and we were looking for pretty quickly so we went over to the food court to get something to drink. We sat in front of the carousel so that Clare could take a ride and I could try and take some pictures. I’m working on getting the panning technique down and for some reason I can’t get it to work the way I would like it to.

This is the best I could come up with.

It’s not the worst example but I think my subject could be sharper. I’ll just have to keep trying and experimenting with shutter speeds. I’ve actually posted a couple of my other attempts here and here

I love this shot. As I was sitting and sipping my tea between shots of the carousel going round and round, a woman pulled her stroller in front of me. I couldn’t see the front of the babies, just their chubby little feet and hands. Arent’ baby feet adorable?

After the mall, we headed over to Holbrook Farm (“weren’t we just here the other day?) so I could pick up some veggies for the grill, some more eggs and a loaf of fresh bread. I think the Europeans really have it over us when it comes to food shopping. They have smaller refrigerators and so they tend (ok, this is what I’m told anyway) to buy their food fresh every day. I could never get that “buy everything you need for the week” mentality. By the end of a week my veggies look kind of sad, so I’d prefer to head over to the farm and get what I want every other day or so. Not to mention that I am a big supporter of the “shop locally, think globally” mindset. Of course, while I shop, the kids have to run to the barn to see if there are any kittens. I got this shot of Mama giving one of her babes a bath when I went to tell the kids it was time to head home.

I’m giving the farm dogs equal time. Here are Max and Bandit.

We have been getting thunderstorms almost every day this week and I haven’t had to water the garden for a while. This is a shot of the backyard after the rain. It stopped just in time for me to get the grill going and make dinner. I love my grill (it was a housewarming present from our contractor who built our house and I will always thank him for it.) If the weather would allow, I would never cook in the house again. We’d just eat grilled food for the rest of our lives. Man, I love the summer!

~ by photobella on 20 June, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
