photo of the day (invasion of the cleaning ladies)

I don’t know what it is about Cleaning Lady Day but I am never ready for it. It’s not like they don’t call and tell me approximately when they are going to arrive. They do yet I’m never prepared when their yellow car pulls into the driveway. There is always stuff that gets thrown into baskets and shoved into closets before they can start their work.

Then there is that need to flee from the noise and confusion of four ladies dusting, vacuuming, and spraying away. So, after tossing a few things into drawers and closets, Nick and I headed out to find sanctuary.

The day started out rainy. In fact, when I woke up at 3 a.m. to the sound of a dog scratching at my door for a warm place to sleep, it was pouring and continued to do so until about 5 a.m. when I fell back to sleep for a bit before getting up again to get Clare ready for school. When the cleaning ladies arrived, it was bright and sunny and I had high hopes for the rest of the day. By the time Nick and I sat down for lunch, the sky looked threatening again. Then the heavens opened up and it poured out.

Nick took this picture of the clouds as we were driving to Trader Joe’s to do a quick shop while Clare had her theater class. The day alternated from sunny to rainy back to sunny all day. It was the perfect example of the saying that if you don’t like the weather in New England, wait a few minutes and it will change. Apparently, some of the storms that hit the area were pretty intense.

We managed to miss the worst of it, thank goodness. Last spring Nick and I stopped for ice cream and ended up driving home in what turned out to be a tornado that brushed through the trees in towns all around us. Not an experience I’d like to repeat.

~ by photobella on 27 May, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
