photo of the day (up close and far away)

I woke up at 5 a.m. and couldn’t get back to sleep. So after a cup of coffee or 2, I threw on a pair of jeans and headed outside to play with some of the kewl photo toys Zki pulled out for us. Here is photo number one, taken with my 55 mm macro lens.

Now we get a little closer with one extension ring.

And a little closer still with one more extension ring.

Then I pulled out our 200 mm lens with a tele-extender. I took a couple of pictures of the birds that landed on our bird feeder.

Nick made the decision to get himself a new camera and lens so that he could step up his photography a bit. Yesterday we ordered a Nikon D40 and paid the extra $4 to ship overnight so we could get it delivered today. Then this morning I got a call from UPS confirming the delivery and reminding me that someone needed to be home to sign for the package. Only problem was that Nick and I had dentist appointments and would be gone for at least an hour or more.

So what to do? I left a pathetic note on the door and hoped for the best.

Then, there I was, sitting in the dentist’s chair with my teeth and lips slightly numbed and who should show up but Peter, our local UPS man. With the encouragement of my hygienist, I asked him if he was heading in the direction of my house and if he had my package. Because obviously, if he was going over to my place anytime soon, I wasn’t going to be there. We headed out to the parking lot and he got my packages (turns out there were 2; I got my Wii Fit delivered as well) and I signed for them, gave them to Nick and headed back in to the dentist chair.

How cool was that? Sometimes living in a small town really pays off. Where else can you get your teeth cleaned and your packages delivered at the same convenient location?

~ by photobella on 21 May, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
