photo of the day (sometimes I wonder why I bother)

Like the title says, Sometimes I wonder why I bother. Today was just one of those no inspiration and not even the brain cells to come up with anything inspiring kind of days. In fact the fog was so bad that I didn’t even look for the inspiration to find something to shoot. I couldn’t even muster up the will to try.

I am going to blame it totally on the weather. The morning started out well enough and I thought I had more time. But by the time I did get up off my arse, the clouds had rolled in and the rain had started. And it was cold (for the end of May that is, in March it would have been considered warm.) The warm, sunny spring days are few and far between. When they are here, I rejoice. When they are not, I wonder why the heck I live in such a cold part of the world. I am firmly convinced that there really is no Spring in New England. We just go from winter to summer and then back again.

The fact that Clare is not here is also throwing me off. She is the optimist that balances out Nick’s and my pesimistic natures and she is not here to do her magic and keep me smiling (and somewhat optimistic.)

So the above picture is merely the result of Nick and I testing out my macro lens with a couple of extension rings to see what it would do. Isn’t it sad that the best I could come up with was a close-up of a Netflix DVD cover? I wanted to go outside and take pictures of something in the garden but Nick talked me out of it when he reminded me of how cold and rainy it was. What wusses we are. I’m sure Clare was out there in the rain at the farm having a wonderful time.

Here is a rainy day poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow:

The Rainy Day

The day is cold, and dark, and dreary
It rains, and the wind is never weary;
The vine still clings to the mouldering wall,
But at every gust the dead leaves fall,
And the day is dark and dreary.

My life is cold, and dark, and dreary;
It rains, and the wind is never weary;
My thoughts still cling to the mouldering Past,
But the hopes of youth fall thick in the blast,
And the days are dark and dreary.

Be still, sad heart! and cease repining;
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all,
Into each life some rain must fall,
Some days must be dark and dreary.

~ by photobella on 20 May, 2008.

One Response to “photo of the day (sometimes I wonder why I bother)”

  1. Hang in there . . . the warm days are ahead and you live in a glorious place of rolling green hills, sprouting flowers and animals mating and bringing forth new life.

    Take a better look at these photos and you will see the beginnings of a contemporary Triptych. Does it really matter what it was that you were shooting? The end result is equal to a piece of art one might find in a museum of modern art.

    You are a true artist. That is why the blues hit so hard. See, you even found a poem to match your mood!

    I haven’t felt much inspiration this week and juggling three bags to work was getting too much for me, so I only take my camera to work when I know that I am attending an event and getting out of my office. Other than that it is scenery around my home and neighborhood during the week and whatever adventures I go on during the weekend.

    Just know that Clare is probably having the time of her life and she is learning about growing up, cutting the umbilical cord one tiny strand at a time. It is good for you and it is good for her.

    JR

Leave a Reply

