photo of the day

Another sunny day; that makes two in a row — almost a miracle. I was much more inspired this morning. There’s nothing like great light to get my juices flowing. This little guy was sunning himself on the rock on our patio and he stayed there for the longest time. I don’t know if he saw us and was too scared to move or if the sun was just so warm and yummy that he just didn’t want to — either way, he was there long enough for me to get several shots of him before he scampered off.

This is the shadow of the net I use to clean the leaves out of my little pond. I loved how the lines of the netting almost mimic the striations in the rock.

Here are my orchids. All the buds have opened and I haven’t killed it yet. The real test will be when the flowers die and I have to get it to bloom again. I’m hoping that it doesn’t fare as poorly as my violets. They were in bloom when I got them but haven’t had a flower since. I don’t do well with things I have to feed (violets, birds, fish and the like.) It’s a wonder my children are still alive but they seem to feed themselves.

I took Nick over to see the Pleasance and Mr. MacGregor’s Garden. These lovely white blooms were basking in the sunshine there.

This is the buddha statue that I have by my sink. He sits under a quote that I like to read from time to time: “Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. ” I like this approach better than those who want to tell me what to believe and how. 

 

~ by photobella on 14 May, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
