photo of the day

The plan was to visit my mom in the morning and then leave in the early afternoon. But when I woke up in the morning I just felt like we needed to stay an extra day. So I called Clare’s school and told them she wouldn’t be in and we spent the day visiting with my mom at the rehab hospital.

As usual, I was up earlier than everyone else in the house and so I made some coffee and took a few pictures around the house before anyone else was even stirring.

I managed to get Nick up early enough so that the two of us could grab our cameras and take a walk before we headed out for the day. The sun was out and it was warm and the air felt and smelled like summer. We found a path that led around a small pond. Most of the area surrounding the large adult community where my parents live seems to be woods and so when Nick and I first set out on the little path we surprised an group of about 6 or 7 deer grazing on the grass and trees by the pond.

The rest of the day was spent inside and outside the rehab center. There is a pretty little sitting area with benches and a garden that is yet to be planted. It is dedicated to the wife of a stroke survivor and now Board Member of the Rehab hospital. We had the pleasure of meeting Richard and spending all of lunch and most of the time that my mom was in PT talking to him.

We stayed with my mom until she got her dinner and then we left to get our own. My dad took us to a nice restaurant called Charlie Brown’s. On the way home, Clare decided she absolutely wasn’t going to make it back to the house without a visit to the bathroom, so we stopped at my Aunt Bobby’s house for a quick visit along the way. We didn’t stay long. My aunt is having someone come to install organizers in her closets and my cousin, Pam, was there helping her empty the contents of all her closets onto every flat space in the house. So while my aunt was bemoaning having to work so hard and create such a huge mess in order to become organized, my cousin was yelling at her and telling her she was a hoarder.

To me, it didn’t look as bad as my aunt made it seem. I didn’t invite her to come and have a look in my closets.

~ by photobella on 5 May, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
