photo of the day

It was a cold and rainy Monday and neither Nick or I got anything of consequence accomplished. I wasn’t coming up with any ideas of what to shoot so I turned to a Project 365 group I belong to for some inspiration and a photo idea.

I chose to try and incorporate all the colors of the rainbow into one picture and since it was so grey and gloomy outside, I looked around the house to see what I could find. Since my Project 365 group has evolved from a knitting site I am a member of, what better choice than yarn.

My next rainbow inspiration is this water color painting that Clare did at school last year.

While we didn’t get much done during the day, we did make it to Aikido class. I have to sit through 2 classes as Clare is a lower belt and they work out from 6 to 7 pm and Nick takes a class with the higher belts from 7 to 8 pm.

There is so much movement in a higher belt class. Aikido is a defensive martial art and the gist of it seems to me to teach the ability to avoid fighting as much as possible. So in the picture above, one of the belts has to avoid and fend off the attack of the other belts.

It is so very fast paced as everyone is coming at him and he needs to be able to avoid their blows and get out of their way while being aware of who is coming at him next. It was fascinating to watch. They worked Nick out hard but in order for him to qualify for his next belt (he is a blue belt and the next step is brown, one belt away from the ultimate goal of black belt) he needs to be able to get his skill levels up as much as possible.

I took this picture on the way home from Aikido. The streets were wet and shiny from the rain and the pavement was saturated with the color of the traffic lights.

I’m pleased that on such a grey day, I managed to find so much color.

~ by photobella on 28 April, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
