Photo of the Day

Some days you just know when you get that one shot. This is mine for today. 

Since Nick and I spent most of the day putting together the furniture we bought at IKEA, I didn’t take many pictures but I really wanted to test drive the new Nikkor 18 – 200mm lens that came in the post today. It was raining for most of the day but it started to get foggy just about the time I picked Clare up from school so I dropped her off at home and ran out for a few minutes to see what I could shoot.

The above picture is a short walk from my house and I always love the view from this property. I shot this with the lens set to 200mm so I could get that nice compression you can only get with a long lens. I am still deciding whether this is the lens that I will keep. It’s only a 3.5 at 18mm and at 50 to 70 only about 4.5 to 5. So there is too much depth of field for portraits and the like. But, for wide or long, it will do just fine. I do like all the automated features it gives me that my older lenses don’t. Oh well, I have some time to think it over.

~ by photobella on 4 April, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
