Photo of the Day (in which I get a breath of spring and try out my macro lens)

whymnal.jpg 

I didn’t quite drag myself to church this morning so much as I just made myself go (telling myself all the way that it was for Nick’s sake that I was going and not mine.) I’m so glad I did decide to go instead of lounging half the day away with my pjs on and my laptop in my lap at home. Today was the annual spring concert and I got to sit in a room mostly made out of glass, surrounded by nature and listen to the most beautiful rendition of Faure’s Requiem performed by our Special Projects choir. How lovely and refreshing for both mind and soul.

If you haven’t listened to Faure’s Requiem and you like that sort of thing, you should give it a try. It’s a magical piece of music. I wish I was saavy enough about those sorts of things to be able to recommend a version by so-and-so or what’s-his-name but I’m not, so you will have to check it out for yourself.

w_balloons.jpg 

After the concert, we went over to check out a new house and piece of property that the church has purchased to expand our space. There were lots of people there and some snacks. The kids went off with a friend to do some exploring and I chatted with some people I know by face but have never really spoken with. It was nice and I felt like for the first time, I was starting to make some connections. I’ve been going there a very long time and you’d think I would know more people than I do, but you’d be wrong.

Lots of people were interested in my camera and that seemed to be a great conversation starter for both me and Nick, who also had his camera along and was taking pictures. Interestingly, Doris Brenner (a well-known member of the church) stoppped to comment on Nick and his photography.  She said she was a photographer and she could tell that Nick knew what he was doing. Nick was pleased by her comments and said “Maybe one day I’ll be a famous photographer.” 

w_jarredroses.jpg

After church we headed over to the mall so I could look at a lens and we could get some lunch. I found these two young lads on opposite sides of the mall fountain, each with the same idea and parents who weren’t paying much attention.

 w_fountaindip2.jpg 

w_fountaindip.jpg 

They didn’t have the lens I wanted so we browsed in a store or two and then headed over to Trader Joe’s to try and see our friend, Veasna, who is back from Afghanistan. We managed to miss him this time so I will have to send him an email and try and hopefully hook up with him next weekend. 


In the meantime, Zki found his 55mm macro lens and I had a very good time seeing what it could do. I love close-ups. It’s hard to get a good, sharp picture without a tripod but I think I did pretty well for myself. 

 

w_stamens.jpg

w_flowerbells.jpg 

w_flametulips.jpg 

 

~ by photobella on 30 March, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
